Delete a Channel in Slack

⚠ī¸ Depending on workspace settings, all users may not have permission to delete certain channels.

How to delete a Slack channel

  • Go to the offending channel.

  • Click the ℹī¸ in the top right corner.

    Slack information button to expand menu

  • A menu will be displayed, choose More from the options at the top.

    Slack side menu more options

  • Choose Additional options from the menu.

  • From the menu, select Delete this channel.

    Slack side menu additional options

  • A confirmation will appear to ensure you didn’t do this by mistake. If you want to keep the message history, you can choose to archive the channel instead.

    Slack channel delete confirmation modal

You’re all set – the channel is now permanently deleted! 🎉

Check out this post from Slack for more on deleting channels.